DiaryEnquiry formSign InBlog

Cricket News

Friday 31st July 2020

England victory against Ireland on ODI return

England eased to a six-wicket win over Ireland on their return to one-day internationals at the Ageas Bowl.

Chasing just 173, and without a number of regulars who are away with the Test squad, England were stuttering at 78-4.

But Eoin Morgan and Sam Billings, who made 67 not out, shared an unbroken fifth-wicket stand of 96 to seal the victory with 22.1 overs to spare.

David Willey earlier marked his England recall by taking his first five-wicket haul in international cricket.

The left-armer, playing his first international since being left out of last year's World Cup squad, took four wickets with the new ball and returned to take the final wicket, finishing with 5-30.

Ireland had been 28-5 at one stage and could have suffered a far heavier defeat but for an unbeaten 59 by 21-year-old debutant Curtis Campher.

The win gives England 10 points in their first game of the newly formed World Cup Super League and a 1-0 lead in the three-match series.


England v West Indies: Joe Denly left out of second Test

England have dropped batsman Joe Denly and rested pace bowlers James Anderson and Mark Wood for the second Test against West Indies.

All-rounder Sam Curran and uncapped Sussex fast bowler Ollie Robinson have been named in a 13-man squad.

Denly, 34, averages 29.53 in 15 matches, and was out for 18 and 29 in the first Test loss in Southampton.

Captain Joe Root returns at Emirates Old Trafford and will bat at four, with Zak Crawley moving up to number three.

Root missed the first Test following the birth of his second child.

The squad for the second Test, which begins on Thursday, means pace bowler Stuart Broad is in line for a recall after being omitted in favour of Anderson, Wood and Jofra Archer in Southampton.

With England playing six Tests in the space of seven weeks, their fast bowlers were always likely to be rotated, with Chris Woakes also coming into contention to play in Manchester.

Robinson, 26, has taken 236 wickets in 56 first-class matches at an average of 22.33, and was part of the England Lions team that defeated Australia A down under earlier this year.


Chris Woakes: England bowler pulls out of IPL stint with Delhi Capitals

England bowler Chris Woakes has pulled out of this year's Indian Premier League to focus on international cricket.

Woakes, who is currently in Sri Lanka with England's Test squad, was due to play for Delhi Capitals in the Twenty20 tournament, which starts on 29 March.

The Warwickshire player will instead return to Birmingham after England's two-Test tour of Sri Lanka.

Woakes has played 33 Tests, including three of England's six Tests over the winter, and was a member of the World Cup-winning squad last summer.

He was signed for £160,000 by Delhi Capitals at auction, having previously played in the IPL for Kolkata Knight Riders and Royal Challengers Bangalore.