DiaryEnquiry formSign InBlog

Golf News

Friday 1st December 2017

Tiger Woods returns after nine months out injured

Fourteen-time major winner Tiger Woods shot a three-under-par 69 as he returned at the Hero World Challenge following nine months out injured.

The American, 41, has had multiple back operations in recent years and was forced to withdraw from February's Dubai Desert Classic with back spasms.

In September, he said he might never return to competitive action.

He shot five birdies and two bogeys to trail England's Tommy Fleetwood by three shots in the Bahamas.

Woods is seeking his first tournament win since 2013, and has not won a major since 2008.

The 18-strong invitational tournament, which benefits Woods' charitable foundation, also includes world number one Dustin Johnson. second-ranked Jordan Spieth and world number three Justin Thomas.


WGC Champions: Justin Rose wins in Shanghai as Dustin Johnson capitulates

England's Justin Rose won the WGC Champions title in Shanghai as world number one Dustin Johnson capitulated on the final day.

Johnson led by six shots and was eight clear of Rose after three rounds.

But Rose, 37, shot a five-under-par 67, which included eight birdies and three bogeys, to finish on 14 under.

American Johnson carded a five-over 77 to finish joint-second on 12 under, alongside Sweden's Henrik Stenson and compatriot Brooks Koepka.

Johnson's round included bogeys on the first, second, 12th, 15th and 16th at Sheshan Golf Club.


The Open 2017: Jordan Spieth holds off Matt Kuchar to win third major

Jordan Spieth won The Open at Royal Birkdale by three shots after an enthralling battle with Matt Kuchar.

Spieth, 23, blew a three-shot overnight lead by the turn and trailed Kuchar after dropping a shot on the 13th.

But he wrestled back the lead with a run of birdie, eagle, birdie, birdie to finish on 12 under and win his third major after the Masters and US Open.

The American is the second player after Jack Nicklaus to win three of golf's four majors before the age of 24.

The world number three is the youngest Open winner since 22-year-old Seve Ballesteros won the first of his three titles in 1979.


The Open: 2020 Championship to be held at Royal St George's

The 2020 Open Championship will be staged at Royal St George's.

The Kent club has hosted The Open 14 times, most recently in 2011, when Darren Clarke won the event for the first time.

The club voted in March 2015 to admit female members for the first time in its history.

"It is a thrilling prospect to see the greatest players competing on one of the world's finest links courses," R&A chief executive Martin Slumbers said.

The 149th Open will be played from 16-19 July 2020.


Rome to host Ryder Cup in 2022

Italy will host the Ryder Cup for the first time in 2022 at the Marco Simone course in Rome.

It will be the 44th edition of the biennial team tournament between Europe and the United States of America.

Europe has held the event outside of England on only five other occasions - Muirfield (1973) and Gleneagles (2014) in Scotland, Spain (1997), Republic of Ireland (2006) and Wales (2010).

Europe defend their title in Minnesota next year before France hosts in 2018.

Italy beat Austria, Germany and Spain in the bidding process.